Accountability – Performance Measurement, Evaluation and Audit

The 2005 Management Framework for the Official Languages Program derives from the collective accountability requirement associated with the 2003 Accountability and Coordination Framework for Official Languages, and focuses the management of official languages on results.

It confirms the governance structure that controls all sectors of activity as well as performance measurements that link these different aspects, and it brings together the underlying indicators and data. Under no circumstances does it replace the performance measurement system of each institution; each department or agency remains in charge of evaluating in detail the initiative for which it is responsible, and ontinues to be accountable to central agencies as currently required.

Presently, 32 federal institutions have the obligation, under the 1994 Accountability Framework, to present an action plan on the implementation of Section 41 of the Act, and an annual achievement report, to the Department of Canadian Heritage; the Minister for La Francophonie and Official Languages must report on this to Parliament.

Furthermore, since the need to document the ways of implementing Section 41 applies to all federal government institutions, the accountability tools of the institution become preferred tools to describe the initiatives that have an impact on the Official Languages Program. Thus, the institutions can use these tools to determine in a concrete way to what extent they contribute to fully respecting the requirements of the Act as regards official language minority communities and fostering full recognition and use of both English and French in Canadian society. The results achieved may be included in their annual performance report and can be used in the Management Framework.

[ Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page ]

La reddition de comptes – mesure du rendement, évaluation et vérification

Le Cadre de gestion pour le Programme des langues officielles de 2005 découle de l'exigence d'imputabilité collective associée au Cadre d'imputabilité et de coordination en langues officielles de 2003 et oriente la gestion des langues officielles sur les résultats.

Il confirme la structure de gouvernance qui chapeaute tous les secteurs d'activités ainsi que des mesures de rendement qui relient ces différents volets entre eux, et met en commun les indicateurs et les données qui les sous-tendent. Il ne remplace en aucun cas les systèmes de mesure de rendement de chacune des institutions; chaque ministère ou organisme demeure responsable d'évaluer en détail les initiatives dont il a la charge et continue de rendre compte aux agences centrales tel qu'il est établi à ce jour.

À l'heure actuelle, trente-deux institutions fédérales ont l'obligation, sous le régime du Cadre de responsabilisation de 1994, de soumettre au ministère du Patrimoine canadien un plan d'action relatif à la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41 de la Loi et un état des réalisations annuel; la ministre de la Francophonie et des Langues officielles en rend compte au Parlement.

Par ailleurs, puisque le besoin de documenter les façons de mettre en oeuvre l'article 41 s'applique à toutes les institutions du gouvernement fédéral, les instruments de reddition de comptes de l'institution deviennent des outils privilégiés pour décrire les initiatives ayant une incidence sur le Programme des langues officielles. Ainsi, les institutions peuvent utiliser ces outils afin de déterminer concrètement dans quelle mesure elles contribuent à respecter pleinement les exigences de la Loi à l'endroit des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et en matière de promotion de la reconnaissance et de l'usage du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne. Les résultats obtenus peuvent figurer dans son rapport annuel de rendement et être utilisés dans le Cadre de gestion.

[ Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante ]