Implementation of the Federal Government's Commitment

General Approach

The implementation of the federal government's commitment takes on various forms based on specific mandates, goals and operational plans of each federal institution.

In all cases, however, concerned stakeholders within a given federal institution (whether at the level of decision-making committees, branches, or officers) must have a common understanding of their obligations as stated in Section 41 of the Official Languages Act. Thus, the institution could establish that any measure contributing to the development of official language minority communities and to the fostering of full recognition and use of both English and French in Canadian society constitutes a positive measure; it could, in particular, stress that it is by remaining attentive to the needs of minority communities and other key stakeholders, and by demonstrating leadership, that it is better capable of identifying positive measures.

This common understanding is also based on an overall consensus about the goals, implementation procedures and expected outcomes. Accordingly, areas of responsibility and corresponding accountability must be clearly identified.

The senior management of federal government institutions has a specific role in:

  • establishing implementation mechanisms for Section 41 of the Act
  • defining strategic directions
  • ensuring that employees are well aware of the federal government's commitment and obligations as stated in Section 41 of the Act
  • making employees aware of the needs of official language minority communities, and of the requirements for promoting linguistic duality
  • establishing efficient result-based evaluation mechanisms
  • ensuring that the institution's procedures are documented
  • ensuring the consistency of the institution's management framework with the Management Framework for the Official Languages Program (2005)

Furthermore, employees working in the areas of strategic planning, development and implementation of policies and programs, communications, performance measurement, and evaluation of results are responsible for:

  • determining whether the federal institution's policies and programs have impacts on the development of official language minority communities and the promotion of linguistic duality, from the initial development of policies through to their implementation, including the devolution of services
  • consulting affected publics as required, especially representatives of official language minority communities, particularly in connection with the development or implementation of policies and programs
  • being able to describe the federal institution's actions, and to demonstrate that it has taken into consideration the needs of these communities or the requirements of the promotion of linguistic duality
  • once it has been determined that impacts exist:

    • planning anticipated activities accordingly
    • preparing results evaluation mechanisms
    • presenting expected results

Key Questions to Facilitate the Decision Making

Section 41 of the Act applies to the entire cycle of activities of federal government institutions, whether it be during the strategic planning, development, implementation, evaluation or accountability phases of policies and programs. It must be remembered that institutions are not absolved of their obligations when the initiative involves a third party.

Throughout these activities, institutions should ask themselves certain key questions when making decisions such as adopting or reviewing a policy, creating or abolishing a program, or establishing or eliminating a service point. The following questions could be included. Of course, questions must be adapted to each situation and their sequence may vary.

Planning and Development

  1. At first sight, what impacts could the initiative have on official language minority communities, and on fostering the full recognition and use of both English and French in Canadian society?
  2. What research activities could be undertaken to validate this preliminary assessment of impacts?
  3. If applicable, what actions could be taken to consult official language minority communities, and organizations that represent them, or key stakeholders involved in the promotion of official languages? Who could be consulted and how?
  4. How does the initiative achieve the results of the research and consultations that have been undertaken?
  5. Once it has been established that an initiative could have impacts on the development of minority communities or on the promotion of linguistic duality, do the implementation principles and procedures take this into account?
  6. If it has been established that the initiative could have a negative impact on the development of minority communities or on the promotion of linguistic duality, and if the decision to take this initiative is maintained, which measures are planned to counteract any identified disadvantages?
  7. Where the initiative contributes, one way or another, to the development of minority communities or the promotion of linguistic duality, have the expected results and performance measurement indicators been identified and are they consistent with those stated in the Management Framework for the Official Languages Program?
  8. Are the selected approaches well described and documented?

Implementation

  1. Does the initiative ensure that federal obligations regarding the development of official language minority communities and the promotion of linguistic duality are taken into account during the whole process of its implementation (for example, by maintaining contact with the representatives of minority communities)?
  2. Is the initiative likely to involve a third party (i.e., non government organizations, private sector, other federal departments and agencies – both at the national or regional level – or other levels of government)?

    In the affirmative, and according to the instrument that ties the institution to the third party (memorandum of understanding, service contract, grants, contributions, federal-provincial/territorial agreements), what actions are taken to ensure the third party's commitment to foster the development of minority communities and the promotion of linguistic duality? (Actions targeted here are over and above those that must be taken towards third parties that act “on behalf” of the institution, in which case Section 25 of the Act, and government policies related to federal service delivery by third parties, apply.)

Performance

  1. What are the immediate, intermediate and final results obtained concerning the implementation of the federal commitment towards the development of official language minority communities and the promotion of linguistic duality?
  2. Does the evaluation reveal that adjustments are necessary?
  3. Are existing mechanisms concerning the measurement of results and
    accountability satisfactory?

Communications

  1. Do the strategies and communication plans take into account the official language minority community public?
  2. What communication tools are used to communicate with official language minority communities? Among others, are existing media in the language of the minority being used? (Actions targeted here are over and above those that must be taken under Sections 11 and 30 of the Act – the first one concerns the publication of notices and advertisements, and the second, communications with the public in both official languages –, and of policies related to the implementation of these provisions.)

[ Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page ]

La concrétisation de l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral

La démarche générale

La mise en œuvre de l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral prend des formes diverses en fonction des mandats, des objectifs et des plans opérationnels de chaque institution fédérale.

Dans tous les cas, cependant, il importe que l'ensemble des intervenants concernés au sein d'une institution fédérale donnée (que ce soit au niveau des comités décisionnels, des directions générales, ou des agents) aient une compréhension commune de leurs obligations telles qu'énoncées à l'article 41 de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Ainsi, l'institution pourrait établir que toute mesure contribuant à l'épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire ou à la promotion de la pleine reconnaissance et de l'usage du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne constitue une mesure positive; elle pourrait notamment rappeler que c'est en demeurant à l'écoute des communautés minoritaires et des autres intervenants clés, et en faisant preuve de leadership, qu'une institution est davantage apte à identifier des mesures positives.

Une telle compréhension commune s'appuie également sur l'établissement d'un large consensus concernant les objectifs, les procédés à mettre en œuvre pour les atteindre et les résultats escomptés. À cette fin, les sphères de responsabilité, et l'imputabilité qui en découle, doivent être clairement identifiées.

La haute direction des institutions du gouvernement fédéral a notamment pour rôle de :

  • mettre en place des mécanismes de mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la Loi;
  • définir des orientations stratégiques;
  • s'assurer que les employés sont bien au fait de l'engagement et des obligations du gouvernement fédéral énoncés dans l'article 41 de la Loi;
  • sensibiliser les employés aux besoins des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et aux exigences de promotion de la dualité linguistique;
  • mettre en place des mécanismes efficaces d'évaluation axée sur les résultats;
  • veiller à ce que les démarches de l'institution soient documentées;
  • assurer l'arrimage du cadre de gestion de l'institution au Cadre de gestion pour le Programme des langues officielles (2005).

Par ailleurs, les employés œuvrant dans les domaines de la planification stratégique, de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre de politiques et de programmes, des communications, de la mesure du rendement et de l'évaluation des résultats ont quant à eux pour responsabilité :

  • de déterminer si les politiques et les programmes de l'institution fédérale ont une incidence sur le développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et la promotion de la dualité linguistique, et ce, dès les premières étapes de l'élaboration des politiques jusqu'à leur mise en œuvre, y compris lors de la dévolution des services;
  • s'il y a lieu, de consulter les publics intéressés, en particulier les représentants des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire, notamment dans le cadre de l'élaboration ou de la mise en œuvre de politiques et de programmes;
  • d'être en mesure de documenter la démarche de l'institution fédérale et de démontrer qu'elle a pris en considération les besoins de ces communautés ou les exigences de promotion de la dualité linguistique;
  • lorsqu'il aura été décidé que des répercussions existent :

    • de planifier en conséquence les activités prévues;
    • de prévoir des mécanismes d'évaluation des résultats;
    • de présenter les résultats attendus.

Les questions clés pour faciliter la prise de décision

L'article 41 de la Loi s'applique tout au long du cycle des activités des institutions du gouvernement fédéral, que ce soit lors de la planification stratégique, de l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes, de leur mise en oeuvre, de leur évaluation ou de la reddition de comptes. Il importe de rappeler que les institutions ne se libèrent pas de leurs obligations lorsque l'initiative fait appel à un tiers.

Dans le cadre de la poursuite de ces activités, les institutions devraient se poser un certain nombre de questions clés au moment de prendre des décisions ayant trait, par exemple, à l'adoption ou à la révision d'une politique, à la création ou à l'abolition d'un programme, ou encore à la mise en place ou à l'élimination d'un point de service. Les questions qui suivent pourraient être de ce nombre. Bien entendu, elles doivent être adaptées à chaque situation et l'ordre dans lequel elles se posent pourrait varier.

La planification et l'élaboration

  1. À première vue, quelles incidences l'initiative pourrait-elle avoir sur les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire ainsi que sur la promotion de la pleine reconnaissance et de l'usage du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne?
  2. Quelles activités de recherche pourrait-on mener pour étayer ce constat préliminaire sur les incidences?
  3. S'il y a lieu, quelles actions pourraient être prises pour consulter les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire, et les organismes qui les représentent, ou d'autres intervenants clés en matière de promotion des langues officielles? Qui pourrait-on consulter et par quels moyens?
  4. Comment l'initiative concrétise-t-elle les résultats des recherches et des consultations effectuées?
  5. Lorsqu'il est déterminé qu'une initiative pourrait avoir des incidences sur le développement des communautés minoritaires ou la promotion de la dualité linguistique, les principes et modalités de mise en oeuvre en tiennent-ils compte?
  6. S'il est déterminé que l'initiative pourrait avoir une incidence négative sur le développement des communautés minoritaires ou la promotion de la dualité linguistique, et dans le cas où la décision de prendre cette initiative est maintenue, quelles sont les mesures envisagées afin de remédier aux inconvénients identifiés?
  7. Lorsque l'initiative contribue, d'une façon ou d'une autre, au développement des communautés minoritaires ou à la promotion de la dualité linguistique, les résultats escomptés et les indicateurs de rendement relatifs à cette contribution sont-ils identifiés et cohérents avec ceux du Cadre de gestion pour le Programme des langues officielles?
  8. Les approches adoptées sont-elles bien décrites et documentées?

La mise en oeuvre

  1. S'assure-t-on que les obligations fédérales au chapitre du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et de la promotion de la dualité linguistique sont prises en compte tout au long du processus de mise en oeuvre de l'initiative (par exemple, en maintenant des liens avec les représentants des communautés minoritaires)?
  2. L'initiative est-elle susceptible de faire appel à des tiers (c'est-à-dire, des organisations non gouvernementales, le secteur privé, d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux – tant au niveau national que régional – ou d'autres ordres de gouvernement)?

    Dans l'affirmative, et selon l'instrument liant l'institution au tiers (protocole d'entente, contrat de services, subventions, contributions, ententes fédéralesprovinciales/territoriales), quelles actions sont prises pour obtenir de ce tiers l'engagement qu'il favorisera le développement des communautés minoritaires et la promotion de la dualité linguistique? (Les actions visées ici sont en sus de celles qui doivent être prises à l'égard des tiers qui agissent « pour le compte » de l'institution, en quel cas s'appliquent l'article 25 de la Loi et les politiques gouvernementales afférentes à la prestation de services fédéraux par des tiers.)

Le rendement

  1. Quels sont les résultats immédiats, intermédiaires et ultimes obtenus en regard de la mise en oeuvre de l'engagement fédéral à l'endroit du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et de la promotion de la dualité linguistique?
  2. L'évaluation révèle-t-elle que des ajustements sont nécessaires?
  3. Les mécanismes existants en matière de mesure du rendement et de reddition de comptes sont-ils satisfaisants?

Les communications

  1. Les stratégies et plans de communication tiennent-ils compte des publics des minorités de langue officielle?
  2. Quels sont les outils de communication utilisés pour rejoindre les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire? Utilise-t-on, entre autres, les médias existant dans la langue de la minorité? (Les actions visées ici sont en sus de celles qui doivent être prises en vertu des articles 11 et 30 de la Loi – le premier concernant la publication d'avis et annonces et le second, les communications avec le public dans les deux langues officielles – et des politiques afférentes à la mise en oeuvre de ces dispositions.)

[ Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante ]