Harper Government Invests in Temiskaming’s Festival des Folies Franco-Fun

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NEW LISKEARD, Ontario, May 5, 2012 - An investment in arts and culture in the Temiskaming region is helping to boost the economy and create jobs and growth. Support for the Festival des Folies Franco-Fun was announced today by Jay Aspin, Member of Parliament (Nipissing–Temiskaming), on behalf of the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages.

Funding will allow the Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario, Région-Témiskaming to host the 7th Festival des Folies Franco-Fun from May 3 to 9, 2012. The event brings Francophones from the Temiskaming region together to take part in activities celebrating their culture. The Festival will include shows featuring live music, dance and traditional folk songs, a play, and art exhibits featuring the work of local artists, artisans and historical heritage performers.

“Our Government received a strong mandate from Canadians to invest in organizations that support local artists, like the Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario, Région-Témiskaming,” said Minister Moore. “By supporting such organizations, our Government is delivering on its commitment to strengthen our economy and support our arts, culture and heritage.”

“I am pleased to announce our Government’s support for the Festival des Folies Franco-Fun,” said Mr. Aspin. “This festival not only celebrates local artists and musicians, but also helps to drive our region’s economy."

“The Festival des Folies Franco-Fun is extremely grateful for the financial assistance from the Department of Canadian Heritage,” said Ghislain Lambert, President of the Festival des Folies Franco-Fun. “Without the support of the Government of Canada, it would be difficult to hold such a large-scale event that provides the public with an opportunity to come join in the fun at a Francophone festival and celebrate our heritage.”

The Government of Canada has provided funding of $12,900 through the Building Communities Through Arts and Heritage program of the Department of Canadian Heritage. This program provides Canadians with more opportunities to take part in activities that present local arts and culture and celebrate local history and heritage.

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans le Festival des Folies Franco-Fun au Temiskaming

NEW LISKEARD (Ontario), le 5 mai 2012 - Un investissement dans les arts et la culture dans la région de Temiskaming contribuera à stimuler l’économie, à créer des emplois et à favoriser la croissance de la région. L’octroi d’un appui financier au Festival des Folies Franco-Fun a été annoncé aujourd’hui par M. Jay Aspin, député de Nipissing–Temiskaming, au nom de l’honorable James Moore, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles.

Le financement permettra à l’Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario, région de Temiskaming, de présenter le 7e Festival des Folies Franco-Fun, du 3 au 9 mai 2012. Le Festival réunira les francophones de Temiskaming autour d’activités qui célèbrent la culture francophone. Les festivités comprendront des spectacles de musique, de danse et de chansons folkloriques, une pièce de théâtre et des expositions d’œuvres mettant en valeur le travail des artistes, artisans et interprètes du patrimoine historique.

« Les Canadiens ont confié un mandat clair à notre gouvernement; celui d’investir dans des organismes qui appuient des artistes de la région, comme l’Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario, région de Temiskaming, a déclaré le ministre Moore. En soutenant ces organismes, notre gouvernement honore son engagement à rendre notre économie encore plus dynamique, et à appuyer les arts, la culture et le patrimoine. »

« Je suis heureux d’annoncer l’appui de notre gouvernement au Festival des Folies Franco-Fun, a affirmé M. Aspin. Ce festival célèbre des artistes et musiciens locaux, en plus de contribuer à l’essor économique de la région. »

« Le Festival des Folies Franco-Fun est reconnaissant de l’aide financière accordée par le ministère du Patrimoine canadien et l’en remercie chaleureusement, a ajouté M. Ghislain Lambert, président du Festival des Folies Franco-Fun. Sans l’appui du gouvernement du Canada, il serait difficile d’organiser une activité de cette envergure qui permet d’offrir au public l’occasion de venir s’amuser à un festival francophone et de célébrer notre patrimoine. »

Le gouvernement du Canada a accordé 12 900 dollars dans le cadre du programme Développement des communautés par le biais des arts et du patrimoine du ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Ce programme vise à offrir aux Canadiens davantage d’occasions de participer à des activités qui mettent en évidence les arts et la culture de la scène locale ou qui célèbrent l’histoire et le patrimoine d’une région.